The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue: Completely unforgettable and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction (Paperback)

The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue: Completely unforgettable and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction By Ella Carey Cover Image
$14.62
Usually Ships in 2-5 Business Days

Description


New York, 1938: Martha pulled the door of her Fifth Avenue apartment closed, her heart thumping, re-reading the telegram she'd been dreading. Her beloved sister Charlotte needed her help. She was alone in Paris, and the threat of Nazi invasion was growing ever stronger. The time had come for Martha to make the bravest decision of her life. She needed to bring Charlotte home.

As Martha looks out of her bedroom window at the blossom-covered trees in Central Park, she is a world away from Europe and the threat of war. But when a telegram arrives from her sister Charlotte telling of the death of their Jewish friend Anita, Martha's quiet life changes in an instant. With the threat of the Nazi invasion growing, Martha knows she must travel to Paris to convince Charlotte to return home.

When Martha arrives, she finds a city preparing for war. Soldiers patrol Paris' cobbled streets and families talk of packing up and fleeing with whatever they can carry. Clutching her sister tightly, Martha knows that Charlotte has already decided to stay. Charlotte's heart is in France, and as an American in Paris she believes she will be safe.

When the Nazis march through Paris' streets and raise their flags over the city's most beautiful buildings, Charlotte is determined not to give in. She works for the Resistance with a Frenchman named Louis, carrying messages, and hiding Anita's family's precious art collection from the Nazis. Meanwhile, Martha vows to help a female Jewish professor to safety in America, only to be faced with impossible odds.

But as the war rages, Martha and Charlotte's determination will be tested like never before. And when Charlotte uncovers a shocking secret about her family which threatens her own life, can she find the strength to protect those she loves the most?

From top ten bestselling author Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking novel about the strength of sisterly love and the courage of the women of the Resistance. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All The Light We Cannot See and Fiona Valpy.

What readers are saying about Ella Carey:

"This is a MUST READ ... Heartbreaking story will move you to tears... Exceptional " Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

"This phenomenal story will touch your heart in so many ways... An amazing escape that you are sure to cherish long after you finish reading... I absolutely loved this." Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"Wonderful... It gripped me from the first page until the last. The characters are so amazing... This story kept me glued all the way through... Phenomenal... Outstanding." @rubie_reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Product Details
ISBN: 9781803145440
ISBN-10: 1803145447
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: July 7th, 2022
Pages: 322
Language: English