The Year of the Garden (An Anna Wang novel #5) (Paperback)

The Year of the Garden (An Anna Wang novel #5) By Andrea Cheng, Patrice Barton (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andrea Cheng, Patrice Barton (Illustrator)
List Price: $6.99
Our Price: $6.64
(Save: $0.35 5%)

Description


This prequel to THE YEAR OF THE BOOK follows perceptive, astute Anna as she strives to grow a perfect garden — only to realize that the garden she grows with her new friend is more than good enough, weeds and all. A heartfelt and charming introduction to the Anna Wang series.

When Anna is gifted a copy of The Secret Garden, it inspires her to follow her dreams—maybe she can plant ivy and purple crocuses and the birds will come. Or maybe what grows from her dream of a garden is even better: friendship. And friendship, like a garden, often has a mind of its own.

In this prequel to The Year of the Book, join Anna in a year of discovery, new beginnings, friendships, and growth.

About the Author


Andrea Cheng is the author of several children’s books, including the acclaimed middle-grade Anna Wang series critics call "gentle," "accessible," and "just right." Though she passed away in 2015, her books will continue to inspire readers. Visit her website at andreacheng.com.



Patrice Barton's talents were discovered at age three, whens she created a mural with a pastry brush and Crisco. She lives in Austin with her family. Visit her website at patricebarton.com.

Praise For…


 ? "Appealing both to transitional and fluent readers, this thoughtful prequel offers further insights into Anna’s world for those returning to it, while creating a compelling story for those just discovering it." –SLJ, starred review   "The parallels she draws between The Secret Garden and her experiences with Laura and the garden add depth to this thoughtful chronicle of adjustment. Delicate spot art highlights key elements. A gentle, feel-good story about the transforming power of friendship and gardening." —Kirkus  "Cheng has a keen ear for the friendship dynamics of the younger set... Barton’s softly blended monochromatic illustrations match the delicacy of the text. Fans of Anna and Laura’s adventures will enjoy seeing the beginning of the girls’ friendship." —Bulletin —



Product Details
ISBN: 9781328900173
ISBN-10: 1328900177
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: April 24th, 2018
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: An Anna Wang novel