Friends Beyond Measure (Hardcover)

Friends Beyond Measure By Lalena Fisher, Lalena Fisher (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lalena Fisher, Lalena Fisher (Illustrator)
List Price: $19.99
Our Price: $18.99
(Save: $1.00 5%)
BACKORDERED - Potentially 2 Weeks or More

Description


A CCBC 2024 Choices for the Picture Books category!

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best!

A 2023 Horn Book Best of the Year—Picture Book

"A loving tale inventively and informatively told." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A uniquely told story that will delight all readers. Highly recommended." School Library Journal (starred review)

“Clever, whimsical, and jam-packed with details.” The Horn Book (starred review)

"A friendship story chronicled through charts, graphs, and maps." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This is THE next book for fans of Mapping Sam and My Map Book! Told exclusively through charts and graphic illustrations, infographics designer Lalena Fisher explores the touching friendship of Ana and Harwin and how they work through their emotions when one friend learns the other is moving far away.

Friends Beyond Measure explores the world of infographics, including maps, diagrams, charts, timelines, and so much more! From the chart showing how to make fairy tea to the Venn diagram of the friends’ personalities, every page is filled with delicious details for the reader to pore over.

Ana and Harwin’s friendship has been off the charts since day one! But when Harwin learns her family is going to move far away, the duo isn’t sure how their friendship can survive the move.

See how their friend-o-meters calibrate in this imaginative, heartwarming story by beloved picture book creator and infographic designer Lalena Fisher. 

An ideal read-aloud for classrooms, libraries, and homeschooling, this book includes back matter that explains all about the different types of charts and graphics in the book and gives suggestions for readers to create charts of their own.  

Readers will love all the fun details in this rich and visual story! And they’ll engage in critical thinking while analyzing and evaluating the images.

About the Author


Lalena Fisher draws and writes in her backyard studio in Austin, Texas, taking breaks to coo up at the owl house where Olive the Eastern screech owl perches. After earning her MFA from Pratt Institute she (Lalena, not Olive) designed for Blue’s Clues and The Wonder Pets. She has created information graphics for The New York Times and makes fine art painting and sculpture. After hours, Lalena rocks out with her daughter as the guitar-and-drums duo The Mothermold while her husband and the dog hold their ears. Friends Beyond Measure is Lalena’s first book as a solo author-illustrator. Follow her various adventures at www.lalenalab.com.



Lalena Fisher draws and writes in her backyard studio in Austin, Texas, taking breaks to coo up at the owl house where Olive the Eastern screech owl perches. After earning her MFA from Pratt Institute she (Lalena, not Olive) designed for Blue’s Clues and The Wonder Pets. She has created information graphics for The New York Times and makes fine art painting and sculpture. After hours, Lalena rocks out with her daughter as the guitar-and-drums duo The Mothermold while her husband and the dog hold their ears. Friends Beyond Measure is Lalena’s first book as a solo author-illustrator. Follow her various adventures at www.lalenalab.com.

Praise For…


“A loving tale inventively and informatively told.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A uniquely told story that will delight all readers. Highly recommended."  — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Clever, whimsical, and jam-packed with details” — Horn Book (starred review)

“A friendship story chronicled through charts, graphs, and maps… When narrator Ana, an inveterate “charter” portrayed with brown skin, meets white-presenting Harwin at a fair, their commonalities and unique qualities become the subject of the book’s first chart…Subsequent spreads chronicle their deepening connection, using different kinds of visuals, each rendered in energetic pencil and marker cartooning… A glossary of charts with activities concludes this social-emotional dataviz accounting.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063210523
ISBN-10: 0063210525
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 28th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English