Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Rascally Raccoon (Paperback)

Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Rascally Raccoon By PJ Gardner, David Mottram (Illustrator) Cover Image
By PJ Gardner, David Mottram (Illustrator)
List Price: $7.99
Our Price: $7.59
(Save: $0.40 5%)
Usually in Stock
On hand as of Feb 21 5:07am
(Juvenile)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Horace & Bunwinkle series.


Description


The second book in a young middle grade mystery-adventure series about Horace, an anxious Boston Terrier, and Bunwinkle, an exuberant potbellied pig, who team up to solve crimes in their barnyard and local neighborhood—perfect for fans of Mercy Watson, The Trouble with Chickens, and A Boy Called Bat.

Horace is flying high after solving the pet-tectives' first mystery. But Bunwinkle just hasn’t been herself—she’s scared all the time and is too embarrassed to tell anyone.

Before they can work on getting Bunwinkle’s confidence back, a new case lands in their laps—well, actually their trash cans—when Shoo the raccoon asks for help. The neighborhood humans think he’s behind a series of garbage upheavals and home break-ins—but he swears he’s innocent. Just because people call him a trash bandit doesn’t mean he is one.

To make matters worse, while the pet-tectives are trying to clear Shoo’s name, they learn that Eleanor is having money problems. She hopes to solve them by starting a community Farmer’s Market in the back field. The neighbors seem excited to help at first but then, one by one, they suddenly drop out.

With time running out, can the pet-tectives solve the mysteries and save Shoo and the Homestead?

About the Author


PJ Gardner is the author of the middle grade Horace & Bunwinkle series. She lives in Southern California with her husband and sons as well as her Boston terriers, Rosie and Rocky. Visit her at pjgardnerswitzer.com.



David Mottram is a full-time illustrator living in Ohio. His previous books include The New Kitten, Wordy Birdy, and Mighty Tug. Dave enjoys family adventures with his wife, daughter, and Gracie the black lab.

Praise For…


Praise for Horace & Bunwinkle: “Gardner’s debut tale of mystery and (eventual) bucolic bliss brings to mind Joan Carris and Noah Z. Jones’ Bed & Biscuit series. Graduates of the Mercy Watson books will also feel right at home. Mottram’s occasional illustrations just add to the charm….This kicks off a series, and readers will be glad to know that this piggie and pooch will pair up again.” — Kirkus Reviews

"I know a thing or two about animals who investigate mysteries, and Horace and Bunwinkle have what it takes, doing so with pluck and charm. Kids will be delighted by the curiosity and caring natures of these adorable, adoptive, crime-solving siblings!" — John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling writer and artist of InvestiGators

“Horace and Bunwinkle are a delightful pair. Sweet and funny, their antics will keep young readers eagerly turning the page.” — Suzanne Selfors, bestselling author of Wedgie & Gizmo and The Imaginary Veterinary Series

“Meet Horace and Bunwinkle, two unlikely friends and Pet-tectives! This funny, charming duo will leave readers eager for more.”
Bobbie Pyron, author of the award-winning A Dog’s Way Home and critically acclaimed Stay



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062946584
ISBN-10: 0062946587
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: November 1st, 2022
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Horace & Bunwinkle